Our Story

AES is a worldwide organisation of audio professionals and its India section was formed in Mumbai, in 1994 under the guidance of Mr. Subhir Pramanik, then International Vice President of AES and with the vision and hard work of Mr. V. V. Merchant, Avinash Oak, Manohar Kunte besides others. It has a growing membership of leading engineers, scientists and audio enthusiasts from the dynamic Indian Media Industry.

Since January 2011, Audio Engineering Society, India became an independent body. AES India has a strong membership of over hundred industry professionals which includes sound engineers from recording studios, live sound industry, broadcast industry, installation industry as well as Acousticians, Musicians and so on. There is a sizable amount of student members from audio and media institutes.


Anyone involved in audio at any level can become a member. You have to apply for membership. Of course there are different grades. The annual membership fee is Rs. 2500/-Students Rs.1500/-, Corporate Rs.10,000/- and can be paid through bank transfer at AES India site or by cheque made payable to ” Audio Engineering Society, India “


This will make you receive the membership card which will give you free access to technical lecture/demo programs.


AES India conducts its own technical lecture/demo programs/study tours, about eight, in a calendar year. You will be automatically receiving invitations to attend them. Interaction/networking with the fellow professionals, widens your horizons & this is what happens at these meetings. Over the years a strong bond of brotherhood is developed which is helpful in the profession or career.

Some of the past activities include seminars held by Indian as well as some International experts such as Mr. Roger Quested of Quested Monitors, Mr. Neville Thiele of famed Thiele-Small parameters, Mr. Roger D’Arcy Of Recording Architecture U.K., Mr. Martin Pilchner of Pilchner Schoustal International Inc. Canada, Mr. Chris Adams of M-Audio U.S.A., Mr. Sam Toyoshima of Japan, Ole Christensen of Denmark, Mr. Dan Lavry of Lavry Engineering, USA, Mr. Don Dapkus of Texas Instruments Inc. USA, Mr. Didier Weiss of Sound Wizard, Auroville Tamil Nadu, Mr. Hubert Henle, Dolby Labs, UK, Alan Meyerson(Hollywood Sound Designer), Robin Porter of AMS Neve, Prof. Dr. Dr. Karlheinz Brandenburg of Fraunhofer Institute Berlin, Donal Whelan of Haffod Mastering UK, John Storyk of WSDG Group, USA and so on.          


Audio Engineering Society, India      
2/Bhutta Compound, Opp. Planet Industrial Estate, Subhash Road

Vile Parle East, Mumbai – 400 057  

Phone: 9820211273, 9869214487  Emailaesind@gmail.com, Email: info@aesindia.org Site: www.aesindia.org